The Student Room Group

Mature Student - Vet Med at Nottingham Uni with low GCSE's

Hi! I would really love some advice from anyone that can offer it! I am currently studying an access to HE Science course - due to end in September so I can apply to study Vet Med at Nottingham Uni for entry in September 2025. My issue is I don't hit the GCSE requirements, you need 5 grade 7's (I have 2 grade 7's) and a 6 in Science and Maths (I got a 5 in both). So how important are the GCSE results for mature students, I will be 24 when starting the course and im not sure i can afford another 2 GCSE's and have to sit them in May this year! I will email the uni too once they open after xmas

Following as I also have been in contact with Nottingham about them accepting access to HE, they had pointed out that I didn't meet the correct boundaries due to me having a 5 in math and not a 6 (GCSE.). I would like to know if you have found out any more on this?It is really disheartening as I do think as a mature student that GCSE's aren't really doable alongside an access to HE course - meaning you would have to wait another year whilst you sit your GCSE's...
Original post by hollywoods01
Following as I also have been in contact with Nottingham about them accepting access to HE, they had pointed out that I didn't meet the correct boundaries due to me having a 5 in math and not a 6 (GCSE.). I would like to know if you have found out any more on this?It is really disheartening as I do think as a mature student that GCSE's aren't really doable alongside an access to HE course - meaning you would have to wait another year whilst you sit your GCSE's...