The Student Room Group
Founders Building, Royal Holloway
Royal Holloway
Egham
Visit website

Is Royal Hollway as bad as people say?

People seem to either love it or hate it.
What are people's honest and possible objective opinions on Royal Holloway?
People complain that there's not much to do nearby but I don't go out much anyway, so does that matter too much?
Reply 1
Original post by Anonymous #1
People complain that there's not much to do nearby but I don't go out much anyway, so does that matter too much?

Hiya! I go to RHUL and I'm in my first year so I'll give you a little insight and if you've got anymore questions pls lmk!
There's a lot of pubs not far from the campus and there's a student run pub called the Packhorse and it's super close which is lovely on nights out. The student union is amazing here they are always running events that range from chill 'give it a go activities' to themed club nights. There are two main places you can go out on campus, the on campus club called Medicine and then the SU venue itself. Imo lots of people are fine with going to these on a night and in the student accoms there are always afters. I don't really go out a lot but when I do I really enjoy myself! However if you are wanting to go further afield it's not too hard, the train station is about a 20 minute walk and there are buses available into London. Egham itself there isn't much to do though so bear that in mind! Hopefully this helps a little bit!
Founders Building, Royal Holloway
Royal Holloway
Egham
Visit website
Reply 2
Their philosophy dept is good.
Original post by Anonymous #1

Hi there,

It’s great to hear you’re interested in Royal Holloway, University of London and want to find out more about us!