The Student Room Group

Lack of study motivation

hi

I was predicted all 8s and 9s at GCSEs and consistently received these grades, including year 11 mocks. However when I sat my GCSEs last year, I achieved 9888777766.

In most of these subjects I was 1 to 3 marks away from the next grade. I felt very disheartened and I might be being dramatic but it still makes me upset thinking about it.

I am studying bio, chem and maths at a-level and want to study medicine. I meet the minimum gcse grade requirements 9 in GCSE maths and 7 in english language.

I feel very unmotivated to study, I can even go as far as saying I don't enjoy studying, which I used to before. my grades have been falling and I am not sure what to do and need some advice.
Hiya, it’s definitely hard to motivate yourself to study. I find a problem a lot when I was doing my A-level exams, especially when my first year our exams got cancelled. What really helped me was motivating myself was making a to-do list and checking it off so that it felt like I was completing small tasks each day.

I also did a morning and evening, check in with my best friend, and we sat at our goals and tasks for the day and held each other accountable. there’s also really good study communities on YouTube I would recommend not just someone’s YouTube channel everybody’s really friendly there and there’s a discord server so you can interact with other students and also he uses the Pomerado technique to keep everybody onto task

Another thing for motivation would be making sure that you get the balance between working and free time. If you don’t you’ll burn out and you’ll be even more motivated to do anything the next day because you’ll be too tired or distracted.

I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any questions and I’m wishing you all the best for your exams. Make sure that look after yourself during these difficult few months I know exams so taxing are on the body and the brain. ☺️
Original post by Someone20
hi