The Student Room Group
De Montfort University
De Montfort University
Leicester
Visit website
Reply 1
It's getting much more recognition than it used to, and some of the academic departments are fantastic, but it really seems to be adopting a super corporate and impersonal structure now which is great from a marketing point of view, but it's really, really hurting the student experience.

It has the potential to really be one of the best universities in the country, and in many respects already is, but the people in charge are taking it in the wrong direction and not making the most of its potential. Some of the marketing just makes me cringe.
De Montfort University
De Montfort University
Leicester
Visit website
Reply 2
From what I've heard and read it is a really good university with a lot of potential. As an international student I didn't know much about it before I decided to apply, but whenever I tell someone that I'm going to study law at Leicester, they are really positive and I've been surprised how many people (outside UK) that actually have heard about the university. I voted underrated in the poll. Than again, I've only visited the university once and read about it in brochures and such.
Reply 3
I think it's a 'great university'. I know it's really good for Law.
Reply 4
Tomber
It's getting much more recognition than it used to, and some of the academic departments are fantastic, but it really seems to be adopting a super corporate and impersonal structure now which is great from a marketing point of view, but it's really, really hurting the student experience.

It has the potential to really be one of the best universities in the country, and in many respects already is, but the people in charge are taking it in the wrong direction and not making the most of its potential. Some of the marketing just makes me cringe.

Can you elaborate on this? Not doubting anything you've said, just interested.
Reply 5