The Student Room Group

Need help with all things Journalism?

There have been quite a few people asking for advice and help on journalism recently, whether it be university courses, post-grad courses, work experience, or how to go about getting a job. Rather than have people's questions dropping off the page before anyone turned up to answer them, I'll put a mini-pile of info and advice here for all to see, and feel free to ask me if there's anything I haven't covered.

Firstly, why I'm able to offer advice (just so you know I'm not bum on the street with no experience!):
I did my GCSEs and A-Levels like everyone else, but then went straight onto the NCTJ Certificate (more about that below) without going to uni. After one year I was a qualified journalist and could have started work on local papers straight away. But didn't want to leave the student life behind at 18, so I went and did a BA Hons in Journalism Studies. I finished that at the start of this summer and through the work experience part of the course I managed land a job straight away. 8 months on I'm the National Deputy Editor of a Haymarket magazine.

But I didn't do it the simplest way, I found some things to be avoided on the way there, as well as the best way of doing things. I wish I'd had someone who could have offered me advice at the time because I could have saved a fair bit of bother. Which is why I'm happy to help anyone else taking that route in any way I can.

Qualifications
The most important point to make is that qualifications are not the be all and end all in this industry. It's not like medicine where you're not allowed to do it unless you have a certain qualification. There are more crucial things to getting ahead in the industry, like ability, dedication/desire, who you know, and luck.