The Student Room Group

No one has any expectations for me they think i am stupid.

I am leaving college soon and i have decided to look for work as many on here would consider the area i am studying as a "Micky mouse" subject and i do not think it is worth the fees.

I am not the best at school work and got poor grades people just presume i am stupid and it is upsetting.Its annoying as its untrue i don't do drugs,smoke or sleep around like most girls my age but no one ever sees this and just think i will end up being in a dead end job as thats all i am worth.

Anyone else offer some advice or have had the same thing?
Reply 1
dude you can do good things! great things if you put yourself out there
dont settle for any less than you deserve
and if people have low expectations blow them out the water
show you can do great things!
Reply 2
What sort of subject did you do?

Personally I think unless you do a particularly niche or career minded course (accountancy etc) I think a lot of companies are viewing more and more undergraduate degrees as ticking a box. It can demonstrate you have the aptitude to undertake further education, analyse and think critically.

Cwhere degrees are commonplace, employers buy into the person not the paper.

I've been involved in the hiring process for my current company and our grads range from those from a management degree to those from a music degree.

Just ensure you believe in yourself first and foremost
Original post by Anonymous
I am leaving college soon and i have decided to look for work as many on here would consider the area i am studying as a "Micky mouse" subject and i do not think it is worth the fees.

I am not the best at school work and got poor grades people just presume i am stupid and it is upsetting.Its annoying as its untrue i don't do drugs,smoke or sleep around like most girls my age but no one ever sees this and just think i will end up being in a dead end job as thats all i am worth.