The Student Room Group

To people applying for Medicine

I'm a 3rd year medical student, and I just want to give some advice to you prospective medics out there.

Please for the love of god, do medicine for the right reasons. Know exactly why you want to become a doctor. When i was a applying i had not a clue what was to entail, i knew it was gonna be hard, lots of work blah blah blah - but i didnt realise the extent to which this was true. I look back at A Levels at think how piss easy they are compared to this. I never really truely sat down and thought why on earth do i want to do a job where its stressful, the pay is NOT as amazing as people thing it is, a job that takes over your life literally.

Because once you're in, you're in. I've seen many people drop out of medical school cause they only realised what they were getting themseleves into once they got here. So just think twice.

When you're stressed, got a ton of work to do and see all your non medic friends partying all the time you're not gonna give a **** about the prestige, the idea of being a 'dr'...

Obvs its not all bad, good points too. But i just feel most sixth form students that i talk to that want to do medicine really are pretty clueless about what it's actually like to be a medical student and a doctor.

Instead of work experience in a gp surgery/care home or whatever , talk to current medical students and foundation doctors.

edit: I'm not saying i regret it, I hate medical school. I still want to become a doctor. But im just sayign when I look back to when i was applying for medicine I thought i knew what being a doctor was about ( i did all my work experiences etc) and what medical school would be like but i really didnt. And I dont think most people do.

Good luck x

I get the feeling im gonna be negged but i dont give a ****, as long at least 1 person maybe has taken something from this
(edited 11 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1