The Student Room Group

Can't afford to move to London for a graduate job...

I am an unemployed graduate looking for a first job. I currently live in a small city so am obviously looking for jobs in London/the south starting from £17,000. I've had a few interviews but no luck :frown:

The problem is, how am I supposed to move to these cities if I do manage to find a graduate role?! It will cost me min. Of £1,200 and I can't even find casual work in my city, I have to survive on almost nothing!

I asked my bank if I could get a graduate loan, but they said since I haven't been paying enough money into my student account, I won't be able to get one!

How on earth am I meant to find work then? I don't have a rich family to support me, so I'm thinking I shouldn't even be applying for jobs as I won't have enough money to actually accept it...

How do other people pay to move for their first graduate jobs? :confused:
The cheapest way to find accommodation is to flatshare. £17,000 will be tough to live off, but I shouldn't think it would be impossible. My flatmate earns about that in Leeds and he's pretty comfortable, I understand London is more expensive, but it should be doable.
Reply 2
Original post by Free.Help
I am an unemployed graduate looking for a first job. I currently live in a small city so am obviously looking for jobs in London/the south starting from £17,000. I've had a few interviews but no luck :frown:

The problem is, how am I supposed to move to these cities if I do manage to find a graduate role?! It will cost me min. Of £1,200 and I can't even find casual work in my city, I have to survive on almost nothing!

I asked my bank if I could get a graduate loan, but they said since I haven't been paying enough money into my student account, I won't be able to get one!