The Student Room Group
The Great Hall at University of Leeds
University of Leeds
Leeds

Lupton/North Hill Court/Montague Burton

Hi everyone!
I'm a Spanish student and I've chosen Leeds for my year abroad. I'm really excited but choosing accommodation is driving me crazy; there are so many options!
However, I've managed to narrow my list down to three halls: Lupton, NHC and Montague B. As I'm not British I haven't been to any open days or anything, so I haven't had the chance to see the halls and decide which ones give me a 'good vibe' and which don't, and I have to rely on what I read online.
I have so many questions, and I was hoping anyone who's actually seen the halls (or stayed at them) could help me?

- Lupton: How long does it take you to walk to the campus? (I'm studying English, so my school is near the Parkinson building I think)
Is the long walk too bad, esp during winter? I've been living close to school/high school/uni all my life, so it's going to be a change, but I think it can be good to experience something different, because you won't have everything at your doorstep all your life! However, I'm just wondering if distance can discourage you from getting to the city center, or even to study at the campus library. However, living close to a supermarket and all kinds of shops in Headingly is a big plus, I reckon.

- Montague Burton: These halls look nice, and having a washbasin in your room is great. However what puts me off about them is:

I've heard it's in a dodgy area... I guess everything should be ok as long as you "don't walk alone", but I'd appreciate being able to walk on my own without getting mugged.