The Student Room Group
The Great Hall at University of Leeds
University of Leeds
Leeds

Study Abroad at the University of Leeds Spring 2014-2015

Hello,

I am a student from the US. I am double majoring in Marketing and Management. I would like to study abroad at Leeds for the 2014-2015 Spring Semester. I will need to be applying soon as the application deadline is in September...I just have a few questions before I do so.

-On my University's study abroad website it lists a 3.0 Eligibility requirement, I have talked to my University and Leeds University about it as I have a 2.883 GPA. I started off as an engineering major and took classes that satisfied that, which I believe brought my GPA down a substantial amount. My GPA has been pretty consistent with an upward trend and I should be pretty close to having a 3.0 GPA by the end of this next fall semester. I was just wondering if there are any other international students out there that have been in the same situation as me? If so, could you tell me if you did anything that brought the attention away from your lower GPA and onto your stronger things? Or could you tell me if the GPA requirement holds less weight in the application process than i am thinking it does (I am worried about not getting accepted because of this). I am very involved with student organizations and hold 3 Board/Officer positions within them, so this is something I would like to emphasize as it is one of my strengths.

-Since I am a Business Major, I was also wondering how hard it is to get into the business classes at Leeds.

Thank you in advance for your responses!
Hi,