The Student Room Group

Upper second class(58.2%) in 2nd year and master application

Hi everyone,

I am a warwick student and I just learned that my overall 2nd year mark was 58,2%. I wasn't expecting a 2.2 and i'm sure that I can get a low-mid 2.1 as my final undergrad mark. However, I would like to know if I still have my chance for a master in business in a top university (uk or Usa). What should I do to maximise my chances ? Should i apply very early or wait after my 3rd year results (as they might refuse me with a 2.2 and no guarentee that I can achieve a 2.1)...
Any advices about what to do?
Ps: i am doing the gmat in September to strengthen my chances
I scraped a 2.2 and will be doing a masters in engineering!
Getting an offer may not be a problem - but funding it will be. Can you afford the fees and maintenance yourself?
Reply 3
Yes I can afford the fees myself.
My problem is will I get the offer if I apply ?
I'm sure they'll look at my uni record and they'll never accept me. (My choices are warwick business school, ucl and kings..).

Did someone experienced the same pb as me ?
You just carry on with your plans (with the proviso that you may have to wait until after your third year results…)

Masters applications take a variety of factors into account, one of which will be references. What you can do at this stage is start to plan who your referees will be - you need that reference to state that you're predicted an overall 2.1. It may be that your referee will be your dissertation supervisor so choose carefully! Good luck.
How is 58.2% upper second class? I thought 2.i was upper second class and 2.ii was lower second class :s-smilie:
Reply 6
Original post by Dasberns
Hi everyone,