The Student Room Group

ACA credit for prior learning.. is it worth applying?

Hiya I'll be starting ACA with my firm in the next few months but was just wondering wither or not I should independently apply for exemptions from some ACA modules as my uni course isn't classified by the ICAEW

The problem is, as i covered 2 very basic modules in my management degree, from what i can see, it's possible for me to bypass the first Aca accounting module.

But because it was fairly basic, if I did bypass it, I was just wondering if it would be a limitation for later ACA modules? (Would advanced modules be based upon the knowledge/basic modules taught?) I don't want to get an exemption only to find, in the final few modules I don't have a clue what's going on becuase I bypassed the offical AcA material from the first term

Is anyone else planning on applying?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Hey
I did a related degree and will be getting exemptions from 3 modules I think. I am curious to know how well i have to know the subject matter, should I be brushing up in preperation?
Reply 2
ThunderBolt
Hey
I did a related degree and will be getting exemptions from 3 modules I think. I am curious to know how well i have to know the subject matter, should I be brushing up in preperation?

Well I'm only going based on EY since I'm starting with them and I've read all the stuff they've sent through they say that if you have exemptions then you still have to go to college and study those modules - just as those without exemptions do - but you are not required to sit the exams for your exempt modules. If all the firms do this then you'll probably won't need to brush up....
Reply 3
HappyHupo