The Student Room Group

Gcse languages

Guys I have no idea how to revise languages. In my school you have to do two (I do German and French) and I am failing. I just don’t know how to revise languages, please help me.
I'm not an expert but I think there is some general advice I could give (I take Aqa French and Aqa German gcses):

Step 1: Look at the specimin - if you go to your exam board's website then there should be an option to see the specimin, so print off the vocabluary and what is required. Vocabluary is the key!

Step 2: Use flashcards (make your own, or use anki or another website) and either type out the vocabluary or use another user's template. Split the vocabluary into modules (e.g. for aqa there are names of chapters) and try using spaced repetition, or aim to learn the vocab in a day. Learn the vocab French to English and German to English - it is harder initially but it sticks better.

Step 3: What components are in your exam? Are they equally rated? Aqa is 25% for each component (reading, writing, speaking and listening).

Step 4: Use past papers (if you're doing higher, start with foundation tests, and equally if you're doing foundation then you might want to attempt higher as a challenge) and find out your weakest area.

If you're struggling with the reading and comprehension skills - Learn learn learn vocabluary! If possible, maybe invest or look online for the textbook or simple texts to try and improve this skill. Use past papers to see how to allocate time - and remember to look at the instructions - it's very important to write in French/German when it asks you to.

If you're struggling with writing, then look online gcse writing prompts or there are books out there to help you improve. Start writing just for the sake of writing, and use the markscheme to try and see what is needed (e.g. time phrases, fancy adjectives etc - memorise it all to improve your chances of a high grade).