The Student Room Group

I'm losing the magic...

Hi all,

I'm a graduate medicine in the North of England. Spent 2+ years trying to get into medical school, but have always wanted it. Had a lovely career before hand. Finished first year with across the board 80%+ in all exams and assessments. Absolutely loved it.

Year 2 - I just cant anymore. Compared to last year, I'm doing hardly anything in my own time. I made Anki cards, watch videos, read textbooks (OK, I'm doing something in my own time) but I just can't bring myself to go over previous content for the second year exams. I've forgotten almost everything we've covered so far this year, and I just can't seem to care. I struggle through the weekly anatomy, giving about 20% of last year's effort, and - again - I don't care.

I think I've run out of enthusiasm. I like medicine, I want to be a doctor, but there's so much content, and I just feel like I'll never be able to find the enthusiasm to do the revision required for finals while on placement, let alone retain enough for the actual job. See last year's grades - I'm capable, I just feel like the spark is going out. I'm trying to do some anatomy of the cranial nerves, and I'm just staring at the 50th ganglion of this week, and I just don't care anymore. My peers don't like the content, find it hard, but they seem to have a fire to do well and a fear of failure. I feel like I'm losing the fear if of failure.

Any advice would be appreciated from those who may have been here.
Original post by Ifyawanabmydr
Hi all,

I'm a graduate medicine in the North of England. Spent 2+ years trying to get into medical school, but have always wanted it. Had a lovely career before hand. Finished first year with across the board 80%+ in all exams and assessments. Absolutely loved it.