The Student Room Group

Personal Statements

hello, my in college submission date for personal statements is the 17th this month, i havent finished mine
im really struggling as to what to include as i have no acheivemts and work experience :/
i've outlined my interest in the course and my skills but its barely 2 paragraphs?
any advice..
What are you applying for?

Have you included details in your PS about specific topics or pieces of work that you’ve enjoyed? It’s the details and specifics that make your PS personal and often what is missing.

If you talk to your college and explain that you’re struggling then it’s usually ok to submit your application with a draft PS to them to add in your reference and then for them to send it back to you so you can add in a final draft in January before it’s sent to UCAS.
Original post by starfshi
hello, my in college submission date for personal statements is the 17th this month, i havent finished mine
im really struggling as to what to include as i have no acheivemts and work experience :/
i've outlined my interest in the course and my skills but its barely 2 paragraphs?
any advice..

Hi @starfshi,

Writing personal statements can be tricky and it's hard to know what to include in them. I struggled with writing mine and I wrote a few different drafts but I ended up being really happy with it. As well as writing about your interest in the course, try and link this with what you have studied at college and why this has interested you in the course. For example, I studied business for A level which is what I applied for at University and I wrote about how a specific project we did which was based on the TV show 'the apprentice' sparked my interest in becoming a manager which is very much linked to the course at University.