The Student Room Group

Will a masters help employability and make up for my a levels

I study politics and international relations, on track for a high 2-1, im in my final year. I have A Levels in English Lit, History, Politics and core maths, scoring B C C C. I am thinking of doing a masters in business management to enhance my skills and to make me more employable, and to potentially balance out my poor a levels to get into a big 4 in the hope of doing a consultant role.

I have also unlike most students worked consistently throughout my degree, with experience working as a ‘middle man’ for my dads business in his sales to the Middle East and helping with other aspects of the business (and other jobs in retail alongside this).

Unfortunately when I was 17/18 it was during covid on top of a load of other personal issues which happens in life. Hence the a levels but hey ho

Will I be able too do this and will a masters help?

For those that say just get experience, it’s an awful lot harder than it sounds, hence why a masters in a different school may make me stand out.
Many if not most grad schemes don't filter using A-levels. The ones that do probably will still filter using those even if you have a strong masters result. Therefore, you should just aim for the ones that don't account for them and do well in your degree.
Reply 2
Original post by artful_lounger
Many if not most grad schemes don't filter using A-levels. The ones that do probably will still filter using those even if you have a strong masters result. Therefore, you should just aim for the ones that don't account for them and do well in your degree.

A masters as well at a better uni and in a different school may give me an edge in the process still?
Not sure if doing a masters will help, but it definitely won’t harm your chances, if the company do have set A level requirements, then it may be best not to apply if you don’t meet the requirements
Original post by Joseph_40