The Student Room Group

(Physiotherapy) Hello from the U.S.A.

Hello All,

I apologize in advance; I am extremely confused and hoping to gather as much information as possible :smile:

My wife and I would love to live in Europe. I graduated with my Bachelor of Science degree in Kinesiology in 2008. After graduating I worked in cardiac rehabilitation and decided that I wanted to continue my education in physical therapy. In the states you must receive a DPT (Doctorate in Physical Therapy) in order to practice. However, there are pre-requisite courses (that my B.S. degree did not require) that are required for admissions into DPT programs. These courses include the following: General Biology, Anatomy & Physiology, Physics, Chemistry and Statistics. My GPA (Grade Point Average) is 3.1.

I have spent hours searching the internet for information about entrance requirements for schools in Europe but I'm lost and confused. I have the following questions and ANY information you could provide would be wonderfully appreciated!

::What degree/program should I be considering (BSc, MSc)?
::Is there a difference between physiotherapy, sport & exercise physiology, exercise rehabilitation)
::What are the requirements for entrance?
::biggrin:o the requirements differ for international students?

I'm not even sure of there are further questions I should be asking. Thank you in advance for any help you can provide me :smile: If it's easier you can email me at: [email protected].
Thank you again.
Reply 1
If you've got a BSc in Kinesiology, you should probably be looking at a MSc (pre-registration). But the MSc courses are quite intensive as they are only 2 years long- if you want to have a part time job as well the BSc would allow you more time for this.
You can only be a physiotherapist with a degree in physiotherapy, so look at that course.
Requirements for entry will be on the individual univerities websites.