The Student Room Group

Current Vet Students

Hello. I believe that vet school is a bit of an uppy downy thing. Some days being a vet stud is great, like when you know what people are talking about or you spot a schwann cell in histology, or do a post mortem with a cool gorey bit, or your sutures look good or a client asks for you not the vet etc. etc.
And some vet days e.g. coming up to exams, all the time in 3rd year or when you're on the farm piss wet through, skating about in the shiite trying desperatly to feel something other than flob in a PD session, i just feel like working in tesco filling shelves and having a simple life or marrying well and getting a bun in the oven instead.

Am I all alone??
I'm a first year RVC vet, and so far, iv not found the stuff that thrilling, but i know that its only because we do all the biochemistry stuff first, and its next term we move onto disections and actual interesting lectures. some things we've done have been so amazing, and really really interesting, and the animal husbandry stuff has been great, but i know quiet a few people have found this term hard going.

but i totally agree with lessthanthree, it is hard work, but its totally worth it. i know its going to get much harder, but its going to get so much better aswell!:smile:
Reply 2
Hello Everyone,

God I worked so hard to get in aginst all odds and its what i live for, and i've lasted this long and its great to be in 4th and having a go at actually being proper vets. Sorry, didn't mean to whinge. I just think that vets do amazing things in a day and get their brains stretched all the time and the people we do it for don't always know that and it makes me wonder how nice or not it would be to have just an 8 hour lecture week like most students, or do a job where the pressure's off.

I have to admit that i thought about it more in 3rd yr which is so depressing cos you have to know so much yet get to apply so little of it in that year, and it gets frustrating.