The Student Room Group

Thinking about dropping out - Unhappy and unmotivated in second year of uni

Hi everyone,
So i'm in my second year of studying psychology - I HATE the course! So much so, I can't even be bothered doing the work anymore.
I love my life whilst at university, have great friends and love living independently, but the course is just not for me, and its really getting me down.

I thought about quitting last year, but stupidly kept at it. Now I'm in the second year, looking at a third if I continue onto third year, and am just really unhappy and stressed. I have no idea what I want to do for a career, and psychology has very low employment rates anyway.

Any suggestions on what to do with my life? I'm literally open to any ideas!

Scroll to see replies

Set up your own business. If you have the funds. Like an ice-cream parlour. That would be nice.
Reply 2
Original post by Golden_Boy786
Set up your own business. If you have the funds. Like an ice-cream parlour. That would be nice.

Problem solved. Thanks
Reply 3
You're half way through your second year, so if i was you, some how, find motivation and just finish your degree.
Original post by smileybop
Problem solved. Thanks

Eh?

you sure.:eek:
Work abroad.
Reply 6
what university are you at? and how bad is the course? i'm planning on doing it next year but i don't have an a-level so the only info i have of the subject is was iv researched! Is it that you are finding it difficult or boring? also, out of interest, were you very keen on the subject when you first applied? I agree with the above post, might as well just finish it, at least you will have the degree that you be studying for 1 year and a half! :smile:
Couldn't you drop out and go do another degree that interests you? Or ask about taking a gap year, and then coming back?
Reply 8
Original post by Mr. Approachable
Work abroad.

I would LOVE to! But have no idea how i'd get started... hint hint

Original post by keepinorder