The Student Room Group

CV help - Making extracurriculars look good?

Hi. I'm currently looking to apply to some temporary admin jobs but I'm having some issues writing it.

Basically, I have very little actual work experience and the last was in 2009 (my excuse is my family live in an incredibly rural location so outside of school hours I couldn't be garreunted to get anywhere :tongue:)

On the other hand I've done a fair bit of extra stuff. I volunteered in a local theatre on and off throughout 6th form, was on the school council, did a little work in the school library, did things like tutoring the 11-16 school kids, and this year at university volunteered backstage in the theatre society.

None of it's technically work or work experience though, but I was wondering if there would be a way of emphasizing it instead of the actual work experience. Also one of my GCSE's has covered pretty much all the skills they asking for, would there be a way of singling it out and pointing this out?

Also references, I'm not sure who to use? I'm guessing school would be one, but no idea for a second.

Thanks for reading :smile:
Reply 1
if youve done voluntary work you could technically put it down as a job you had, I have one in my cv which was voluntary because I was basicaly doing all the tasks of a paid role but for free,

also as for grades I'd say put all your gcses as well as A-levels if thats the highest you have, Id start with the highest grade but thats just me.

As for references you could always use one from somewhere you volunteered? also a teacher/tutor would make an excellent reference as an authoritarian/academic reference?

Lastly anything else you think is relevant wack it in a section called interests or interests and hobbies at the end, my c.v. has a bit near the start called personal qualities and has stuff like team work and punctual etc whereass the interests I modify depending on the job :tongue: