The Student Room Group

Help! The thought of a gap year is making me depressed

I graduated from high school not too long ago (I'm australian) I got accepted into my first preference at at university that I really like. However my parents are making me take a gap year (long story). My course allowes me to take a year off and still have a place for next year. Anyway all my friends are getting ready to leave for uni, some have already left. The thought of taking a gap year is making me depressed. I will be working at a boring store while all my mates are progressing in life at uni. I play football (soccer) which starts tomorrow!! However work and soccer aren't enough to occupy me over my gap year. I'm getting depressed thinking about how lonely and bored I will be this year! Some advice would be great :smile:
Reply 1
Why not work abroad say camp america you could go travelling or volunter

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Original post by lovepeace

Posted from TSR Mobile

I was thinking about travelling to Europe and also going to See my beloved liverpool play at anfield. I gotta work and save a bit for that to happen though
Reply 3

Posted from TSR Mobile

I'm only 17 working or volunteering by myself abroad would be challenging that would make my situation worse.
Reply 4
Original post by mrcoollfc
I'm only 17 working or volunteering by myself abroad would be challenging that would make my situation worse.

Why not see about doing a mission trip where its not just you but other people there as well why not volunter at projects in your area

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 5
Why not see about doing a mission trip where its not just you but other people there as well why not volunter at projects in your area

Posted from TSR Mobile

So far I haven't found anywhere here where they need people to help out! Anyway I will keep looking! Hopefully I will get to travel to around Europe in the next few months. It's going to be a long year :frown: god help me
Reply 6