The Student Room Group

Do you even lift girl?

So yeah, just another noob girl trying to get fit and strong. You may have seen me around the transformation contest, but I'm serious now and planning on starting a proper training programme.

In the past I've done Insanity, fad diets, cardio-obsessing, pilates, tai chi, running, youtube-obsessing - basically anything you could think of, I've done it.

Anyway, one thing I haven't really got into and known what I was doing is weight lifting. Recently I've read so many articles and seen so many inspiring stories of lifters that I really want to start myself! So I found this programme on simply-shredded (or something) for female beginner weight lifters. It is 12 weeks long and incorporates HIIT and weight lifting 4 days a week for fat loss and muscle building, sounds great basically!

I am a complete beginner so this post won't have any 'stats' however I can squat quite well - I know this isn't very official, but I regularly squat with my 10 year old brother on my back for 3 sets of 12, he weighs about 30kg.

Anyways, this is probably getting too long now for the first post, but I should be taking my starting measurements and weight this weekend, with my first gym session this Sunday woohoo!

Stick around and watch me get strong!

Posted from TSR Mobile

Scroll to see replies

stick to it, you'll see results.
In b4 white knights.

What is the routine exactly?
(as in, which lifts on which days with which rep schemes)
Ok I know this isn't the weekend buuut Saturday night I got quite drunk... and was hungover the whole of yesterday! Didn't go to the gym, but tbh I was planning to officially start today anyway.

Starting stats: (metric units)
Weight: 75.3kg
Height: 170
Bust: 98
Waist: 79
Hips: 105
Left arm: 32
Right arm: 32
Left leg: 57
Right leg: 57

So I'm symmetrical huzzah!