The Student Room Group

HOW TO ASK A GIRL OUT? Let's come up with a definite guide..

How do you ask a girl out in the following scenarios? I am a complete novice here.

1. You just met her at a conference
2. You just met her freshers week
3. You just met her at a friend's party or a social gathering
4. You've just met her, and you want to be part of her life whether it be friendship or girlfriend. You don't want rejection!
5. You've known her for a while/ are friends with her friends and she's become single.
6. She's friends with one of your friends and you don't know how to hint that you like her!

What exactly do you say? I'm at uni. I'm a complete beginner when it comes to dating or asking girls out.

Scroll to see replies

"Hey, do you wanna grab dinner or a drink sometime?"

That is a fairly definitive way of asking a girl out. Only the densest of people could not treat that as an offer of a date.

Hope this was helpful.
Buy her a few drinks, then if she's pissed enough you might get away with "grab your coat luv - you've pulled!"
At Uni, it's far easier. Without trying to sound like a pick-up artist. If there's a girl you're attracted to in any of the settings listed above, just say something along the lines of "Hey, i noticed you over there and just wanted to say you look really nice/pretty"...She'll say thanks...then maybe comment on one of her features trying to guess what country she's from etc...then kick off a convo from there by either getting her number/asking for a date. It's more acceptable in an environment such as a party etc, than just off the street.
Original post by Over2you