The Student Room Group

Should I do biomedical sciences for a year or reapply for medicine after a gap year?

This thread has been done a trillion times I know even though I'm new.

But I'm so conflicted it's killing me, and I really just want another perspective

My gap year was forced upon me I didn't get into med school even thought I really really wanted to go to uni this year.

I got into Sheffield for biomedical sciences so should I take it and try transferring after a year (I don't know how difficult that isn't) or possibly try post graduate? I don't want to take a gap year I didn't plan it I didn't want it I have no clue what I'd do but at the same time I want the best option so that hopefully this time next year I am studying medicine.

Thing is my grades weren't too good especially for medicine I screwed it a bit I got at a levels
Russian A* , (Bio + Chem + maths A) and a A at AS Spanish.

So...anyone got any ideas? I literally cannot decide for myself I've thought and thought a thousand times over and I'm cutting it pretty close help maah
(edited 8 years ago)
If you do it postgraduate you won't get any loans if you apply to regular undergraduate courses. The only way to get loans would be to apply to graduate courses, which are much more competitive than regular medical courses.

Were all your rejections pre interview?
Reply 2
Your grades are fine for med. try re-applying

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
3 were pre interview one after an MMI which I think I did extremely well in. Everyone in my year applying for med didn't get even, even my friend who's like a golden boy, 5A*s at a2 etc we just don't know why.

Money and loans isn't too much of an issue I've worked and saved a lot and I'm lucky in that my family, grandparents and parents, have been saving for my uni since before I was born. So my issue isn't at all financial it's not pert of my dilemma.