The Student Room Group

Is 22 too young to be thinking about settling down?

I'm 22 and I've been single for 3 years now, in that time all my friends moved away to university and got girlfriends and are now in committed relationships whereas I stayed at home and got a well paid job and now I'm a manager within the company I work for. A few of my friends are starting to move in with their girlfriends and now people are asking me when am I going to think about settling down.

Being completely honest I like being single as I can do what I want, when I want and talk to who I want. However, I am starting to feel like people are putting pressure on me to meet someone, should I try to meet someone or should I just concentrate on enjoying myself?

Scroll to see replies

Original post by Anonymous
I'm 22 and I've been single for 3 years now, in that time all my friends moved away to university and got girlfriends and are now in committed relationships whereas I stayed at home and got a well paid job and now I'm a manager within the company I work for. A few of my friends are starting to move in with their girlfriends and now people are asking me when am I going to think about settling down.

Being completely honest I like being single as I can do what I want, when I want and talk to who I want. However, I am starting to feel like people are putting pressure on me to meet someone, should I try to meet someone or should I just concentrate on enjoying myself?

I wouldnt consider 22 too young myself (i m younger and would say i've settled down really), however you should settle down when you are ready not when other people say you should be.
Reply 2
Some people are ready at 22
just do what you want 22 is still really young
Don't put pressure on yourself to settle down 22 is really young, it will happen at the right time.
young, in some countries ppl start uni at 21