The Student Room Group

How to be a games designer/programmer?

What degree or qualifications would I need to become a games designer? I have an offer for an engineering degree and an accountancy and finance degree. Would either of these be helpful? And if neither of them are what could I do after my degree that could help me enter that field of work?
Reply 1
why change to game design? I am a game design student and I'd love to be in your shoes right now..
And they may help a little, but I would recommend either compsci, game design, design and stuff like that
Original post by Alexlyo
why change to game design? I am a game design student and I'd love to be in your shoes right now..
And they may help a little, but I would recommend either compsci, game design, design and stuff like that

I agree, these seem very relevant. I would do the the degree that is more suited to you and your interest. 3 years is a long time, so do something you love. Good Luck with your choice :smile:
As a computer science student, I'd advise that comp sci is probably the best fit and it is a pretty broad field so there is a lot of flexibility. If you're interested in the designing aspect it might be useful to start putting together an art portfolio and start experimenting with different art softwares; blender, Jump Paint, Medibang etc - these are all free btw :smile:

Good Luck!
Original post by Unistudent2022
What degree or qualifications would I need to become a games designer? I have an offer for an engineering degree and an accountancy and finance degree. Would either of these be helpful? And if neither of them are what could I do after my degree that could help me enter that field of work?

Hi there,

My name is El and I thought I would give you some advice on how to become a game designer!