The Student Room Group

I am a student in Y9(going into y10) want to achieve top grades.

I am going into Y10 after summer and to achieve top grades in my gcses I am planning to start revision early maybe start/middle of Y10.(when I say revision I don't mean long sittings just short sessions couple days a week. When this time comes how should i revise? Should I only recap things I did in school or can I go ahead from school and learn topics on my own? I was thinking if I knew topics earlier it would give me an advantage(correct me if I'm wrong). Please give feedback.

ps- trust me i will still be enjoying my younger years i just want to guarantee a good future for me without a lot of stress.
Reply 1
If you really want to do lots of revision then just do an extra 30mins to an hour of any topics you were doing in class that you found tricky, or just something you feel like you've forgotten. I wouldn't try and learn anything extra until at least the start of Yr 11, because there are so many things you'll probably get taught that you may have already seen, which could make the lessons more boring and you won't try as hard.
Original post by js234
I am going into Y10 after summer and to achieve top grades in my gcses I am planning to start revision early maybe start/middle of Y10.(when I say revision I don't mean long sittings just short sessions couple days a week. When this time comes how should i revise? Should I only recap things I did in school or can I go ahead from school and learn topics on my own? I was thinking if I knew topics earlier it would give me an advantage(correct me if I'm wrong). Please give feedback.

ps- trust me i will still be enjoying my younger years i just want to guarantee a good future for me without a lot of stress.

Hi! I'm going into year 10 soon so I understand how you feel!