The Student Room Group

Taking a gap year between the second and third year.

Hi,

I'm starting university this year and I'll be a mature student (22). Many of my friends who have completed university said although all years are important the third and final year is the most important year of them all.

I'm studying drama and since then I've been thinking about taking a gap year during the second and third year as I worried about how I will cope mentally and physically. My future career is to also join the British Army which means if I applied during the second year I could start training during the gap year.

I would appreciate people's opinions on this as I haven't fully made up my mind and I feel this would help me.
Original post by trs200101
Hi,

I'm starting university this year and I'll be a mature student (22). Many of my friends who have completed university said although all years are important the third and final year is the most important year of them all.

I'm studying drama and since then I've been thinking about taking a gap year during the second and third year as I worried about how I will cope mentally and physically. My future career is to also join the British Army which means if I applied during the second year I could start training during the gap year.

I would appreciate people's opinions on this as I haven't fully made up my mind and I feel this would help me.

Hi,