The Student Room Group

TA role and doing lunchtime duty

Hi. I work as an SEN ta new job through agency. Dome really well settled in and getting to know the 1-2-1 however they gave now asked me to cover lunch duty vev with him in canteen and supervise play outside. However I'm autistic myself and struggle to be in canteen areas for long time other then passing. What do i do? Will this mean i lose my job just because i feel unable to be with him I'm canteen (wasn't aware of this before and the 1-2-1s needs doesn't automatically men this) . I'm happy to playground. Or he outside canteen while his on there.
Do i speak directly to school or get agency to speak to school? Agency aware
Or do i leave. I can fulfill everything else. Other places sone have been okay about it and swapped me so someone covers me during this time and i have my break them rather then later others have not been supportive. I'm scared worried.
Have you discussed this with HR and advised them you have a condition requiring reasonable adjustments under the equality act?
Original post by artful_lounger
Have you discussed this with HR and advised them you have a condition requiring reasonable adjustments under the equality act?

I am working in this school through an agency on temp contract up to end of July 2024, started last Monday. Agency are aware of my conditions but these don't disclosed to school unless such situations arise. Therefore i don't know who HR are. When your through agency in think they deal with everything.
I know the Equality exists very good reason buy unfortunately most places this seems to fall through. When the direct school job i had that didn't work didn't accept and with agency well they just ask for replacement. So hurt dunno what to do!? I'd like to stay on if they can bar past this. I'm also worried about the after effecys with my other work place there was q visible change in how they saw me before and after disclose.
Original post by unknownforever