The Student Room Group

post-OSCE advice (or in general post-exams advice) pls 😭

I'm a first-year physio student at St Georges and I just had my first real OSCE- pretty sure I failed

The anatomy questions I definitely got 0 marks because I reviewed them later, communication I fumbled. I accidentally put the practice patient in an uncomfortable physical position and only realised right at the end when I adjusted the bed. I don't know if that would have fixed the situation and I wouldn't have lost the marks.I asked for consent but I forgot to introduce myself or explain what I was doing.

Out of the 7 questions, there's only 1 question I think I did ok on.

I was the only one who didn't sit the practice OSCEs because of being hospitalised, so this was my first experience ever, and I don't think it could have gotten worse

I'm pretty sure I failed, I don't know where I'd get the 40% marks from. Results are going to be submitted in 4 weeks and I'm only going to be stressing until then and thinking about resists in August

I've never had to resit an exam before. I feel mentally at my worst, and physically at a low too. I just can't get this horrible experience out of my mind.

Any advice of what I can do from now
Hi,

I’ve been forced to take a year out this year because my A-Levels didn’t go the way I wanted, partly due to my own mistakes and partly due to examining boards, it’s pretty *****y at first to realise your gonna have to re-sit but you’ll soon make your peace with it; you sound like your an intelligent person and I’m sure you’ll come to realise that life is a long race - messing up at one hurdle doesn’t mean your down and out.

Not so much advice but I hope you know you’re not alone! Re-sitting exams is nothing to be ashamed of.
Reply 2
Original post by Christyhorgann
Hi,