The Student Room Group

How do you revise effectively for A-Level Physics?

What i'm doing at the moment is past papers and then studying the topics that I get wrong afterwards. I was wondering what others are doing because i'm really trying to get the most out of my revision time.
same
Reply 2
I'm studying a section then doing a part of a paper for that section. Then at the end of the unit I'll do a few full papers then go back over what I need to study more.
My teachers said attempt to teach someone else that knows the topic then they can correct if not get a mate to teach it because they might word it differently and it might click better
Original post by David31415
My teachers said attempt to teach someone else that knows the topic then they can correct if not get a mate to teach it because they might word it differently and it might click better

Teaching each other is a great idea. A good rule of thumb is that you don't fully understand something until you can teach it to somebody else.

I've recently read an excellent book about learning called Make It Stick and made a quick video summarising some of the key points:

[video="youtube;Xk1Z7AULUws"]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xk1Z7AULUws[/video]

For physics specifically, you need to get plenty of practice answering past paper questions, especially calculations. You will also need to be very tight in your recall of key word definitions. If you study OCR, you may find these key word definition lists useful (they are based on past paper mark schemes). I have also created Quizlet sets out of them, which is a great tool for learning definitions.

(CowenPhysics.com also has specifications for OCR, AQA and Edexcel, with some revision videos matched to the specs - more to follow.)
Reply 5
I presume you have these sources of information:
Textbook
Internet
Class/lecture notes
if you're lucky: lecture recordings

And in addition:
Past exam papers
Other practice questions.