The Student Room Group

Can't find work...:(

This is really starting to get to me now. I've been in and out of agencies looking for work and nobody can help me. Realistically, what are my chances of getting a job and am I good enough for IT jobs?

I graduated 3 years ago in Computer Games Production with a 2:1 and since I have been unable to get anything other than Temporary work either in retail or offices. Here's my working life so far:

2007-2009
McDonalds
Graduated then worked at Sports Direct for a year
Worked for Nike (1 month X-Mas Temp)
Worked for Jagex (1 month)
Applied for University but the course got cancelled a week before it was due to start so I kept on applying for jobs and attending interviews
Worked at a horticulture organisation as a Sales Representative but was told by the manager that she was after a Qualified Account so was let go
Signed on to JSA
Had many more interviews for Games jobs, which were unsuccessful
Applying daily

If anyone could give me advice. I feel so lost at the moment. If you were in my shoes what would be the next step?
Reply 1
just stick at it mate. Your getting interviews which is a big plus, you must learn from each one and build upon it. When I was first applying for jobs I was very nervous and as a result performed badly at the actual interview. But learning from each one I was able to be more confident for the next one and eventually got a few offers.

I cant say too much about the IT career sector because that's not my specialty but keep applying and prepare fully before you go for an interview.
Reply 2
I feel the same as you. I'm applying for public sector jobs every day. Meanwhile, i'm on JSA and been outright rejected for about 10 retail jobs. At least you've already got some good retail experience behind you! I'm trying to get an xmas temp job but struggling. I would advise you to try and do the same since you have pretty good experience.
Original post by music788