The Student Room Group

Who will take me?

Hi! I'm a student from the US hoping to do my postgrad work in England (taught courses, master's in English). I just graduated last month- I'm taking a year off and want to start my postgrad in 2008. I already miss school (nerdy, i know) so I'm anxious to start again. But since I'm not familiar with UK schools, I don't know which schools I could get into. I'm scared no one will take me! I have a 3.65 GPA. Is anyone familiar with the GPA system who could recommend some schools? Assuming I have a strong personal statement, what are my chances? I would love to study in London but will probably apply to places throughout the UK and Ireland. Would love some advice- thanks in advance!
Most universities outside Oxbridge specify 3.5 or less as the minimum entry requirement. I study politics; my highest condition was 3.5 and the lowest was 3.2 (and that was at a very good course at King's). Since this is your final GPA and you've graduated, you could try for Oxbridge as well. But it doesn't depend where you study; I know I got a lower offer due to my undergrad university; I know a few people from less prestigious US universities got offers of 3.7-4.0!
Reply 2
o no! if offers for US students are 3.7-4.0 i'm in trouble! working full time at a boring job since i graduated has made me even more desperate to go back to school. I just hope someone will take me! any recommendations of unis to try?
Reply 3
I couldn't tell you which university requires which GPA level, but given that the UK has around 130 higher education institutes, you will certainly find somewhere to take you, especially given how some universities require much lower grades than others to get in.

For London, try looking at this site:

http://www.lon.ac.uk/