The Student Room Group

Current Student at Scottish Medical School Fed Up of Woke

Hi I'm not looking for a political discussion here so anybody who is inclined to do so, find another thread.

I'm a conservative medical student and I have had it up to my eyeballs with aggressive leftism, wokery, BLM, anti-English fervour etc on campus here. I need to get out of Scotland. I don't think the rest of the UK or even the USA would be much better so I'm looking to go elsewhere.

I don't have endless supplies of cash so I am looking for somewhere abroad to transfer where they teach in English. I'm looking at Eastern and Southern Europe, maybe Russia too. I'm open to Asia as well but doubt I'll find anywhere that will take me.

Does anyone know of any places in the world that will accept a transfer student, teach in English and might be more traditional? Does anyone know of anyone who has transferred.

Scroll to see replies

I have a brother who lives in Scotland with his family, and he's been telling me that the anti-English sentiment is getting quite bad. I think most universities will have plenty of "woke" students, although there are also plenty of (albeit quieter) conservatives at my uni too. I think you'd find most English universities would serve you ok.
This isn't something you can escape from easily.

The medical and scientific world is filled with woke nonsense. I do not believe that this is a Scotland-specific problem.

I have no useful advice to give, sadly. I'm a registrar in the UK, and I'm conservative too. I just have to grit my teeth and stay silent, as I wouldn't want to jeopardise my career.
Original post by samesamesame
Hi I'm not looking for a political discussion here so anybody who is inclined to do so, find another thread.