The Student Room Group

careers with bursary

Hi, so my question is that what career opportunities are out there that also offer bursary during training. For instance, teaching offer bursary depending on the subject and some social work programmes too like Frontline and think ahead. I work in a school at the moment and do not like to be a teacher so I decided to look into Frontline, after a rigorous application and interview process I was accepted only to last minute be informed that the council I was allocated was suddenly not taking anymore students, so they have deferred me for next year. I am at a stage in my life where I eagerly want to start a career and have been applying to different jobs but it is very competitive out there. I think the best way is through a programme and as I am a single mum only with a bursary would I be able to train in a certain career.
Most NHS degrees offer the Learning Support Fund (put that term into google to find the website) which offers a £5000 grant on top of your student loans, as well extra finance for parents.
Reply 2
Original post by Mev385
Hi, so my question is that what career opportunities are out there that also offer bursary during training. For instance, teaching offer bursary depending on the subject and some social work programmes too like Frontline and think ahead. I work in a school at the moment and do not like to be a teacher so I decided to look into Frontline, after a rigorous application and interview process I was accepted only to last minute be informed that the council I was allocated was suddenly not taking anymore students, so they have deferred me for next year. I am at a stage in my life where I eagerly want to start a career and have been applying to different jobs but it is very competitive out there. I think the best way is through a programme and as I am a single mum only with a bursary would I be able to train in a certain career.