The Student Room Group

Changing sixth forms

Is it possible to change sixth form in your second your? The reason I'm asking is because I'm currently in my 1st year at sixth form but I just feel like it isn't the place for me. I don't get bullied or anything but it doesn't feel right. I don't wake up feeling good about going in. In fact I dread going in. I know so many people that go to my sixth form and I'm saying this in a non-evil way (if that's even possible) but I feel like I need to get away from everyone I know. I feel like eveyone's just crowding me and I don't know why. Euurrgh! I never used to feel like this at school. I need help!

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
imthe_RIOT
Is it possible to change sixth form in your second your? The reason I'm asking is because I'm currently in my 1st year at sixth form but I just feel like it isn't the place for me. I don't get bullied or anything but it doesn't feel right. I don't wake up feeling good about going in. In fact I dread going in. I know so many people that go to my sixth form and I'm saying this in a non-evil way (if that's even possible) but I feel like I need to get away from everyone I know. I feel like eveyone's just crowding me and I don't know why. Euurrgh! I never used to feel like this at school. I need help!

Someone in my tutor group was asking this question on behalf of a friend quite recently.
My tutor said that [for someone wishing to transfer to our sixthform, anyway] it would depend on the AS results and if the exam boards for the subjects were the same. If you wish to move to somewhere which uses different exam boards for your subjects then you may have to start the school as a first year, basically starting afresh.
While of course this was specific to my sixth form, I would assume that it would be the same for most places. Call the sixth form to which you hope to move to make sure. =]
Reply 2