The Student Room Group

Applying to English via clearing

Hi everyone. I finished my A levels in June and I'm currently waiting for my results. I studied Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics at A level and I only hold one offer from the University of Bristol for biomedical sciences.

Studying my A levels for 2 years made me realise that I didn't like Science and Maths as much as I thought I did. I also did work experience at a lab for about a month and concluded that I'm really not suited to the degrees in such disciplines. I also don't think I'll fulfill the grade requirements of my offer.

So after I finished my A levels, I reconsidered my options and I found that I have in interest in English. I want to apply to an English degree with a foundation year.

On results day, when I call the universities, aside from my grades, would they also ask why I chose English (considering the fact that I didn't study A levels in English/essay based subjects)? Would I need to send a separate personal statement?
Not sure about the former, depends on the uni for the latter.
Reply 2
Original post by sleep_supremacy
Not sure about the former, depends on the uni for the latter.

What do you mean?
If you go to a university that publishes their grade requirements for Clearing, then they probably will accept you without checking your UCAS application details if you meet their requirements.

-Kao (Lancaster Maths & Stats Student Ambassador)
Reply 4
Original post by Lancaster Student Ambassador
If you go to a university that publishes their grade requirements for Clearing, then they probably will accept you without checking your UCAS application details if you meet their requirements.

-Kao (Lancaster Maths & Stats Student Ambassador)

Thank you
Original post by Shelly Wang
What do you mean?