The Student Room Group

Average GCSEs, A* A* A* A-levels, enough for oxbridge medicine??

This is my story:
( I appreciate that this is long and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking the time to read it)

I studied year 12 and got BCD in the AS exams.
Then, I moved houses and the new sixth form suggested that I should retake year 12. They said that it would not hinder my application. I am currently re-doing year 12.
For GCSEs, I got Maths 7, eng lang 6, eng lit 7, geography 7, 9-8 combined science, 9 citizenship and 6 Design and Technology, Pass2 for two BTEC subjects.

I do Chemistry, Biology and Psychology. Predicted grades are A* A* A* ( I do EPQ as well).

If I were to have losts of work experience, extracurricular, an excellent UKAT score , 4 A*s (including the EPQ) and a excellent personal statement , do you think I would get into oxbidge medicine, despite average GCSEs and the fact that I repeated year 12 ?

Thank Youuuuuu
Hey there, thanks for posting a question in the Medicine forum. :biggrin:

The Medicine forum gets a high volume of questions being posted, and some of these are already answered by the resources and Megathreads that members of the community and volunteers have created. This is an automatic post which is designed to highlight these resources. Below is a list of threads and articles that could answer your question (you should be looking in the original post of the megathreads). If one of the below threads is a more relevant place to ask your question, please post a reply in that thread to ask your question. If your query is answered by one of the Megathreads or articles linked below, and you would like us to close this thread for you, please reply to this thread with just the words "thank you". A member of our team will then get it locked.

Megathreads
(Please read the first post, before then posting any further questions you have within that thread.)
The "Which Medical School Should I Apply To?" Uberthread