The Student Room Group
Studying at Cardiff University
Cardiff University
Visit website

Accomodation at Cardiff uni

Hi, I have been offered an MEng at Cardiff, being an international student I will be able to come to UK only by Sep 2024. Could I get some insights on accommodation? Gordon hall is supposed to be closest to the Eng department- but someone on this forum said they were asked to avoid it? Any inputs? Thank you.
Hi there! I would say if Gordon Hall feels like your only option, try not to worry too much, opinions on student accommodation tends to fluctuate person to person. Whilst I have not lived in Gordon Hall myself, the Cardiff accommodation website is quite accurate in how it is. You could have a go at looking at reviews online on other sites as well - websites such as StudentCrowd helps me often to make a decision.

If you decided Gordon Hall wasn't for you, there are many other student accommodation close to the engineering building. In terms of university-owned accommodation, Senghennydd Court/Hall is still really only an 8min walk.

There are also many private halls based near city center, but also a very short walk to the engineering building. Accommodation such as Adam Street Gardens, West Wing, Eclipse, The Neighborhood, etc. These halls are more luxurious, but they tend to be a lot more expensive than university halls.

Hope thats helped,

~ Fatiha, Cardiff Student Rep
Studying at Cardiff University
Cardiff University
Visit website
Reply 2
Original post by rs05in
Hi, I have been offered an MEng at Cardiff, being an international student I will be able to come to UK only by Sep 2024. Could I get some insights on accommodation? Gordon hall is supposed to be closest to the Eng department- but someone on this forum said they were asked to avoid it? Any inputs? Thank you.