The Student Room Group

Which STEM careers actually make decent money?

I'm currently a year 13 student about to start an undergrad, I've never been too sure what degree I wanted to do but I ended up settling on EEE and have got offers from Russel group universities, but the more I look the more it seems like engineers make horrible money for the amount of work that goes into the degree I have the opportunity now to change courses before I start but by the looks of it any career that involves technical mathematical stem skills doesn't pay well which is crazy. At this point im considering just studying physics and maths as i enjoy those subjects and maybe going into finance after although personally I think ill enjoy those jobs but it seems like the only place where technical minds are appreciated in this country.
they make horrible money... but only in the uk lol. go look at the same job in America and i guarantee u it will be 6 figures. this country is just finished tbh.
Original post by Fallenfoxy25
I'm currently a year 13 student about to start an undergrad, I've never been too sure what degree I wanted to do but I ended up settling on EEE and have got offers from Russel group universities, but the more I look the more it seems like engineers make horrible money for the amount of work that goes into the degree I have the opportunity now to change courses before I start but by the looks of it any career that involves technical mathematical stem skills doesn't pay well which is crazy. At this point im considering just studying physics and maths as i enjoy those subjects and maybe going into finance after although personally I think ill enjoy those jobs but it seems like the only place where technical minds are appreciated in this country.
Research has found STEM and non STEM graduates have equivalent earnings outcomes within 10 years of graduating.