The Student Room Group

Foundation year Law transfer student. Do I have a chance?

. I am a law foundation year student at the University of law, wanting to transfer unis.
I emailed a few universities and the majority of then were willing to consider a foundation year applicant. They advised me to apply online via UCAS so that they can assess my modules and see a personal statement, reference etc.

For my first 3 modules I recieved 2 2.1's and a 2.2 :/.
However for nxt 3 modules, in the mocks I received 3 very high firsts which I was pleasantly surprised about. If I were to get 3 firsts in these modules, would those be decent enough grades to transfer?
I guess I'm just really nervous about applying as my alevel grades were really quite poor. (CDD) should I take the plunge and just apply? Has anybody ever been in the same position?
Any help appreciated 😊
(edited 2 years ago)
Original post by amber2106
. I am a law foundation year student at the University of law, wanting to transfer unis.
I emailed a few universities and the majority of then were willing to consider a foundation year applicant. They advised me to apply online via UCAS so that they can assess my modules and see a personal statement, reference etc.

For my first 3 modules I recieved 2 2.1's and a 2.2 :/.
However for nxt 3 modules, in the mocks I received 3 very high firsts which I was pleasantly surprised about. If I were to get 3 firsts in these modules, would those be decent enough grades to transfer?
I guess I'm just really nervous about applying as my alevel grades were really quite poor. (CDD) should I take the plunge and just apply? Has anybody ever been in the same position?
Any help appreciated 😊

It doesn't hurt to apply so I would just go for it but tbh the unis will still take your CDD into account so I wouldn't apply anywhere too competitive. I know it's tricky with law as they tend to ask for high A level grades.