The Student Room Group

Chose the wrong degree and wrong job choice

Hi All,

I’m 24 years old I’m a quantity surveyor for one of the top construction firms in the UK. I chose quantity surveying purely on a money basis. I was told by a load of people go be a QS you’ll go make a load of money. So I did l. I got one of the top grades in my year (75%-76% first overall I think it was).

Now I don’t say all this to gloat I just want to give people an image of the bigger picture that I didn’t flop my degree now I want a get out of jail free card.

Now recently I picked up the hobby of music production and instantly fell in love with it. Realised this is what I want to do. Whether I’m a lecturer to a Sound engineer. I don’t care I love everything about music. Spend every hour I’m not at work learning about it.

Now I’m stuck on what to do and what options are available to me. I’ve used my three years so I’m sure I’ll have to pay for uni (which I don’t think I can afford). But I’m just looking for a way out because I’ve now found my passion in life and don’t want to spend a moment longer not working towards that.

Cheers guys,
Original post by Anonymous
Hi All,

I’m 24 years old I’m a quantity surveyor for one of the top construction firms in the UK. I chose quantity surveying purely on a money basis. I was told by a load of people go be a QS you’ll go make a load of money. So I did l. I got one of the top grades in my year (75%-76% first overall I think it was).

Now I don’t say all this to gloat I just want to give people an image of the bigger picture that I didn’t flop my degree now I want a get out of jail free card.

Now recently I picked up the hobby of music production and instantly fell in love with it. Realised this is what I want to do. Whether I’m a lecturer to a Sound engineer. I don’t care I love everything about music. Spend every hour I’m not at work learning about it.