The Student Room Group
De Montfort University
De Montfort University
Leicester
Visit website
Reply 1
Fran Katzenjammer
I've applied to do English without knowing too much about the uni, except that I've seen some great pictures, student satisfaction is high, it's going up in the league tables and it's good for English.

If you're a student there, what do you like about it? How's the atmosphere? The entertainment? The campus? The architecture? The teaching?

Hi.

I'm studying a different subject but my experience at Leicester has been fantastic really. The atmosphere is brilliant if you are looking for a campus university with the close welcoming feel.

Although the student village is 20 minutes away from the bus. You'll find that this creates a bubble effect which is handy for meeting people in your area (It helps that there are bars closeby, even if you don't drink.) I get the impression that those who live close by to the university mostly meet people through their course or through societies, the options are much more limited.

Meeting friends has definitely contributed a large percentage to how much I'm enjoying university life, and many seem to agree with me. I guess this is why Leicester has such a high student satisfaction rate.

If it helps - I was catered. The food isn't terrible, although I suppose that depends on how high your standards are. What would you aim for? Self-catered?

Moving onto the more objective stuff.
Campus - Most things are within 5 minute walking distance. You'll mostly use the Library, the student shop and where you study. There are places to eat cooked food but I find these places rather costly apart from the breakfast maybe (It's not something you want to be doing everyday.)

Come give Leicester a visit. You'll get the feel for the place and know whether it's for you. My first time visiting Leicester was...

"Some outskirts of the town look a little run down however I can see myself studying here in this department"