The Student Room Group

Should even try anymore?

So I’m in year 13 and my A level predicted grades are AAA
I chose to take a gap year so I could do more work experience to boost my application. But right now I have nothing. Like I don’t stand out as a student. I barely have the entry requirements grades, I did not do an epq, didn’t do the DofE and no work experience. I have to work so hard on my grades I literally have no time to do any extracurricular to make me stand out. I barely talk in class so my reference letters from teachers must not be great.
I’m also an international student if I’m applying to the UK.
So my question is should I even apply? What are the chances that I can get at least one offer? And what can make me stand out as an applicant?

Thanks.
Reply 1
I'm guessing you're talking about university applications? Of course you should apply. The worst thing they can say is no. Even if you don't talk much in class, if you're predicted 3 As then your teacher reference letters must be pretty good. There's lots to talk about on your personal statement. Have a look online and you can get some ideas of things that you can mention. Best of luck.