The Student Room Group

Stressed cos I can’t find a placement

I’m in chemicals engineering and I’ve applied for a few placements but I keep getting rejected I’m getting worried now and it’s stressing me out that I just keep getting rejections. I don’t want it to be like this once I graduate especially if I don’t get experience
Speak to your university employability team to look at your cv and cover letter. That helped me out a lot and I got confident for interviews etc. definitely underrated but we all need some help.
Original post by helpme111
I’m in chemicals engineering and I’ve applied for a few placements but I keep getting rejected I’m getting worried now and it’s stressing me out that I just keep getting rejections. I don’t want it to be like this once I graduate especially if I don’t get experience

Hi!

I am also a student with a placement year in my degree and have been applying for placements with mainly rejections so far. So I understand how demotivating it can be when all your effort seems to go nowhere. However, I believe that being negative about my outcome will affect me in my applications and interviews, so I have been trying my best to remain hopeful about the whole process. I can share some of my tips on dealing with placement applications and also just being positive but practical at the same time.

I recommend having a spreadsheet of placements that you find or are interested in, categorised with their deadlines, job type, grade qualification, location etc. I find this helps me keep on top of deadlines and also makes it easier to keep track of the different placements. You could also have a column for whether you applied yet or not, so you can be sure you have submitted applications. I also recommend finding other people who are taking a placement year like you and working with them to create the spreadsheet, because sometimes they may have found ones you didn't find and vice versa.