The Student Room Group

KCL or St Andrews

Hi all,
I have no idea which university to go to in September and I’m hoping for a bit of advice. My firm choice will be between Kings College or St Andrews, so pretty different experiences and courses. I’m a Channel Islands student so I’ll have to travel for both unis. The grades I would need are exactly the same, so this is what I’m thinking so far:

King’s College:
Course - History and War Studies
Pros: really cool course, loads of things to do in London, easy to get home
Cons: less of a uni experience, super expensive, and nerves about living in a city coming from a person who’s always lived on a tiny island, accoms scare me ngl

St Andrews:
Course - Modern History and International Relations
Pros: beautiful, much smaller and together community, travel isn’t too bad, international reputation
Cons: course isn’t my ideal course (also 4 years), fear I’ll regret not taking the opportunity of the best time to live in London
also for SA, I haven't gotten an offer back at the time of posting.

Obviously there are a lot more pros and cons for both but every single person I’ve talked to has a different opinion on which I should go to so I’m asking on here for some neutral thoughts. Honestly my head is a bit all over the place so I really don’t know which one I’m even leaning towards.

Hi,

As a student who moved from the Channel Islands to a Campus University in 2021, my experience relates to feeling overwhelmed with the idea of halls and living in a big city, especially just after the pandemic. Accommodation can be scary at first, but especially if you find people who know their way around the city, things can become easier.

I found moving to a university where I had the opportunity to dip in and out of the city lifestyle whilst remaining a campus student to be beneficial. Though it really was not something I had planned.