The Student Room Group
Students at University of Huddersfield
University of Huddersfield
Huddersfield
Visit website

Accomodation for PhD Postgraduate

Hi everyone,

I am looking for any insight that can be provided by others on accomodation in Huddersfield. I am a PhD student starting in Sept 2017 and looking for somewhere to stay that is private and quiet. I have heard that most of the student accomodations like Aspley, Castings and Storthes are hangouts for undergraduates. I know what these kinds of places are like back home in Australia and I'm more interested in just a private room without sharing.

I have been looking at Kingsmill and Palace studios but can't be entirely sure if I want to live there specifically till I arrive in the UK around August. Can anyone provide some insight on good postgraduate accomodation? Doesn't have to be affiliated with the University at all.
Original post by jab93
Hi everyone,

I am looking for any insight that can be provided by others on accomodation in Huddersfield. I am a PhD student starting in Sept 2017 and looking for somewhere to stay that is private and quiet. I have heard that most of the student accomodations like Aspley, Castings and Storthes are hangouts for undergraduates. I know what these kinds of places are like back home in Australia and I'm more interested in just a private room without sharing.

I have been looking at Kingsmill and Palace studios but can't be entirely sure if I want to live there specifically till I arrive in the UK around August. Can anyone provide some insight on good postgraduate accomodation? Doesn't have to be affiliated with the University at all.

Hi,

It's great to hear you are considering Aspley House and Castings for your student accommodation. Both of these sites do have Studio rooms available which would provide you with the private room you desire. The En Suite rooms provide you with your own room and bathroom but you would share the kitchen and living space.