Book review: the wheel of time

Fantasy Fiction:



The Wheel of Time



The Wheel of Time is a series authored by Robert Jordan (a pen-name for James Oliver Rigney). The series began in 1990 and is yet to be completed. Rumours speculate that the twelfth and final book, the Memory of Light shall be released in 2008. The books are published by Tor Books.



The complete list of books in this series are:

1. The Eye of the World

2. The Great Hunt

3. The Dragon Reborn

4. The Shadow Rising

5. The Fires of Heaven

6. Lord of Chaos

7. A Crown of Swords

8. The Path of Daggers

9. Winter's Heart

10. Crossroads of Twilight

11. Knife of Dreams

12. The Gathering Storm

13. Towers of Midnight

14. A Memory of Light



New Spring

Collaborative book:

The World of Robert Jordan's the Wheel of Time

About the Author

Robert Jordan (a.k.a. James Oliver Rigney) was a highly eminent author. Many claim him to be the 'heir to Tolkien'. In recent years, Robert Jordan was diagnosed with amyloidosis, a rare blood disease which affects only 8 people out of a million each year, and those 8 per million are divided among 22 distinct forms of amyloidosis. He passed away in 2007, leaving in place contingency plans to ensure that the final books of the Wheel of Time Series will be completed. Robert Jordan wrote the Fallon trilogy before he began his quest to write the Wheel of Time. Before his illness, he planned to write a series called Infinity of Heaven.

Popularity of Books


The Wheel of Time series have won numerous awards. Currently, the series is published in 21 languages and is available in Great Britain, Japan, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Greece, Sweden, the Netherlands, Norway, Taiwan, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Finland, Hungary, Israel, Poland, Russia, Korea, Turkey, Estonia, and the United States. A recent study showed that over 12 million copies of Wheel of time books have been sold in North America. Red Eagle Entertainment LLC has acquired rights to further publicize the series. A comic series based on the Wheel of Time has been created and Red Eagle is working towards making a television series based on the Wheel of Time.


Well Known Fan Sites:

Dragonmount, where Robert Jordan also holds a blog, keeping readers updated.


Seven Spokes