The Student Room Group

Am I a potential candidate for Oxbridge?

So I’m quite unsure how this works as I’m new to this! My question revolves around the fact that my GCSE’s are not so good- I ended up getting 2 A’s (both in English lang and lit) 2 B’s, and 5 C’s after being predicted all A’s due to personal reasons meaning I couldn’t attend school much and therefore barely revised (despite getting all A*’s in my coursework for every subject) and I was really disappointed about this. I decided to take a level 3 BTEC in Business and Management, and am also taking an A level in English Lang&Lit and an A level in Psychology, so by the end of the 2 years I will have the equivalent of 5 A levels which I thought would be an advantage over others taking 3 and maybe make up for my GCSE’s, though I doubt they’d even accept a BTEC? I understand I would have to do exceedingly well at these, and I’m currently getting all distinctions and A’s/A*’s so far and am predicted very high from my teachers but I really don’t know if this is enough to get me into Oxbridge, as I don’t exactly know how it works.. I have always had a passion for achademia and my teachers would always comment on my ability to think outside of the box/think of things before peers did and was in the top classes for everything- especially English, so this would probably be the subject I would apply for; I have won competitions, got a short story published, and scored the best out of my whole year in my English GCSE.. but I’m worried my GCSE’s overall are just not enough? I wondered if anyone knew if I would be a potential candidate they would look for and if not, what else I would need to do? I have always been more drawn to Cambridge and have heard they are more lenient with GCSE’s- has anyone been in a similar situation to myself? Thank you in advance :smile:
Bump
Contact Oxford or your UCAS officer.