The Student Room Group
Main building
University of Bradford
Bradford

Life as a student nurse at Bradford

Hi, I'm Aaron. My university dream began in September 2019 when I got accepted onto the BSc Adult Nursing course based at the University of Bradford under the Mid Yorkshire Trust. Alongside studying, I work part-time as a dental nurse.

Aaron-at-work.jpg

About me 👋
Starting university at the age of 35 led me to believe that I was too old for this...but you're never too old to follow your dreams!

The nursing course exceeded all my expectations. Growing up, my inspiration was to become a nurse and my life experiences have paved the way for me to finally do what I always wanted to do.

My course
The course is a three-year programme, and I am based at the Mid Yorkshire Teaching Hospital Trust. The cohort I am in is made up of around 42 people. Fifty percent of the course is practical on placement and the other part is academic, based at the Oakwell Centre in Dewsbury.

The most exciting part is that I made friends for life along the way, and we have all come from varied backgrounds, which makes my support networks extensive.

What to expect
With the course being 50/50 you get to learn all the clinical skills required within an academic setting before putting them into practice.

You learn the concepts of the human anatomy. In year one, we had four exams covering the cardiovascular system, homeostasis, the respiratory system and the digestive system. We also had the drug calculations exam - but don't worry, the support you get from the academic tutors is second to none.

You will be expected to complete an assignment. My assignment was based on the professionalism of a student nurse.

Lectures take place two and a half days a week, and you are required to complete self-directed learning. The learning material given to us by the tutors is very helpful and you will always feel fully prepared for your lectures!